Maggie starts another week of Advanced Training


It seems Maggie has a sixth sense about when she is going to Advanced Training.  This morning I got up at 5:45, fed Maggie, then I sat down to spend sometime in devotions.  Maggie usually goes back to her crate to resume her beauty sleep, but this morning she jumped up on my lap, curled up and went to sleep…she just couldn’t get close enough.  When we finally got in the car to go to the kennel (where she goes for training), she generally curls up and goes to sleep; but today, she watched out the window the whole way (45 minutes).  I could tell she was very nervous, and when I left her in the kennel, she cocked her head, jumped up on the gate as if to say, “Hey, you’re not leaving me here, are you?” Emotionally this is very hard.  Why am I telling you this?  I guess because it is an important part of what we as puppy raisers all go through…we ALL go through this!  It is part of OUR training.  We all have emotions with which we have to deal.  My guess is that Maggie wonders for a bit where I went, but soon is enthralled with how much fun it is to be with other dogs, and soon after that, she will be involved in some pretty intensive training.  Labs love anyone who will “treat” and feed them.  Honestly, that is their chief motivation, and for the time being, I will become a distant memory.  Will she be happy to see me on Friday?  You bet (and the feeling will be mutual)!  This will all become routine over the next 7-8 months, and eventually she will transfer her affections to a client who needs her.  I believe she will always remember me (and Sue), but her focus and primary affections will someday be with her new life partner – just as it should be.  We are in this for the long haul, and we must keep the goal in mind…that makes it all worth the emotions in this moment in time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Maggie starts another week of Advanced Training

  1. thistlebt@verizon.net says:

    Phil, I knew this parting would be painful for you especially……you have such a deep love for all animals. ;0( But I know you knew it going in, too, ans were willing to make the sacrifice of parting after bonding. That is so wonderful….

  2. pmbender says:

    Thanks Terry! It is really strange to wake up and – no Maggie. 😦 ALL of the puppy raisers go through this, and I don’t think it ever gets better at the “moment”, even after raising several dogs. We all need to keep the Brenden’s in mind when we feel the pain of separation. It was wonderful to see dogs who completed their training “working” with their partners when we were at PAWSabilities this past weekend. Thanks for your comments.

  3. rich bolton says:

    I commend you both..I could not ever consider doing this.. I am way too emeotional when it comes to the 4 paws

Leave a Reply

